Sompeplace Brand New; again.

Here I go again—

In less than 24 hours I am headed off to another country: Guatemala. Needless to say (but I have to say it, because that’s what blogs are for, right?) I am quite excited. I get to immerse myself in another culture, another language, make community with new people, eat new foods, hike some volcanoes and soak up as much learning as I can cram into my last quarter of being an undergraduate student.

I will try to post as much of my adventures and pictures as I can on this humble little site, for anyone who is interested to see. There will be times when internet will be a bit of a longshot for me (and by that I mean impossible) since I will be doing my internship in a rural village, but that’s the fun of it, right? Getting away, disconnecting, being as Guatemalan as I am allowed to be.

I am a bit nervous, but after a year in Italy and a summer in India, I feel like I am getting a hang of this whole process, from packing, to flying, to not drinking the water. I hope to do this all of my life: travel, learn, be immersed; GO.

So with these few words, I leave you– off to new lands and experiences.

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – Saint Augustine

Namaste,

–Kira

Leave a Reply

