One Day at a Time

Let’s look at a pearl of wisdom from my mother tonight:

“We can only do our best, and we can only take it one day at a time”

No more than that.

–We can’t do more than our best, or it wouldn’t be our best.

–We can’t take things on more than a day at a time, because we can’t control time like that. We are given the day we are in and we deal with it as it comes. Yes, making plans is good, but when it comes down to surviving the chaos that life throws at you sometimes, the best way is to take it one. day. at. a. time.

What has today meant for me? Nothing extraordinary…until I look at the little blessings and challenges I actually faced today. I cried tears on the phone. I ate a mountain of frozen yogurt. I got through classes and midterm grades. I wore my hair down. I ran in the hail. I studied and worked and pushed through. I took today with what I needed to do for this day.

Tomorrow I will do the same. One day at a time. String it all together and you have a life. My life. With all the simplistic, overwhelming, beautiful, extraordinary, up an down days.

One thought on “One Day at a Time

  1. My mom says that, too. Another little tidbit of wisdom that goes really well with that philosophy is the Serenity prayer:

    God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
    The courage to change the things I can
    And the wisdom to know the difference.

    Sometimes, I find it helps when I’m all stressed because life is just NUTS.

    Mucho hugs…
    H.

Leave a Reply

