Feel Good Tunes

“Usually, we listen to music to validate how we feel. That’s why we play sad songs after a break-up. But to use music therapeutically, you need to listen to songs that make you feel the way you want to feel.”

I can’t not bop my head to: ___”Shut Up and Let Me Go!” by the Ting Tings___

I dance naked in my bedroom to: “Electric Feel” by MGMT

The tune I belt out at the top of my lungs on a road trip: “Uncharted” by Sara Bareilles

My no-fail seduction song: “Strip Tease” by Hawksly Workman

I’m not at all embarrassed to tell you I know every word to: “Tic Tok” By Ke$ha

Favorite morning shower song: “All the Trees in the Field Will Clap Their Hands” by Sufjan Stevens

Best girly, sunny day song: “Perfect Day” by Hoku

Awesome rockin’ movin’ tune: “Hayloft” by Mother Mother

Song that puts me to sleep (in a good way): “Comtine D’un Autre Ete: L’apres midi” by Yann Tiersen

 

So that’s my music therapy! I encourage everyone reading this to make a list like this for yourself and listen to these songs that make you feel awesome, when you are feeling far from it. It’s amazing what a little bit of endorphines can do to your attitude! Sure, there are times to wallow and cry along to the songs that are apparently made just to match what your heart feels, but you can’t be stuck in that rut forever. Make the sun shine for you!

Here are a few other tunes I’ve been grooving a long to that I found on the ever-impressive Hype Machine (http://hypem.com):

“Alice” by Pogo (music made from the sounds and words from the Disney cartoon of Alice in Wonderland)

“Let It Go” by Ok Go as remixed by Passion Pit (to get life into the right mindset)

and finally, “Sweet Disposition” cover as done by Ellie Goulding (really gorgeous vocals)

Have yourselves a beautifully musical day, enjoy the sunshine, and come through winter just fine, fine, fine.

Namaste–

Kira

One thought on “Feel Good Tunes

  1. Music is wonderful. 🙂

    So, let me see…

    I can’t help but dance to “Paralyzer” by Finger Eleven
    Road trip/radio song is “Clocks” by Coldplay, “My Private Nation” by Train, or “How Far We’ve Come” by Matchbox Twenty
    Sunny day song is “Beautiful Day” by U2
    House-cleaning songs — ANYTHING by Linkin Park, lol.
    Creativity inducing music — something by Enya, Loreena McKennitt, or Clannad

    I’m going to have to check out Hype Machine one of these days… 🙂

Leave a Reply

