Drowning…but I Know I can Swim

Here it is, only the third week of Winter quarter, and I already feel like I am drowning in a never-ending flood of homework. From Politics to Middle Eastern history to Global Health, its always something. Not that I don’t see the value of what I am learning, but does it have to completely take over my life like this? Well, apparently for a university senior who is taking 19 credits, it does.

So if that is the case, then I’ll face it dead on! I found a quote this week that felt very applicable,

“Believe you can, and you are halfway there.” –Theodore Roosevelt

It’s amazing what attitude can do. I have found it my constant relief since the start of 2011, taking on an attitude of loving myself, of knowing things will get better, I can heal, and I grow from every life experience. Yoga has been amazingly helpful in shaping this attitude about myself. Loving yourself and being grateful for exactly where you are can give you an emotional makeover.

That being said, I have camped out on my couch with my fuzzy blanket and Middle East homework spread around me, gathered the needed supplies of Dr. Pepper and some Ben and Jerry’s, and turned on some really great tunes. (I’ve included one of my new favorites that I have most definitely learned on my ukulele. It’s a great mash-up with lots of heart and sweet sound.) I have the attitude I need to tackle this next step in my life, with my degree in sight. Taking it one step at a time is all I can do, especially when I feel like I am drowning. So tonight, I battle the flood and pray I come out victorious.

Namaste, –Kira

Leave a Reply

