Musical Outlets

I love music, and it really can set a mood for a day, release a feeling you have trapped inside, or give you answers you have been trying to find. I love to participate in the art I see around me, even if I know that I myself can never be a fully self proclaimed artist. But the best kind of art comes when multiple mediums are used: like visual arts and music. This creates a whole new set of feelings and it is able to transport me to a different type of world, where I can explore and maybe find the answers I have been looking for.

Here is a video by the Guggenheim Grotto (a band I saw live opening for Ingrid Michaleson) that brings the fun of creative explosion and the emotions of flowing melodies together:

Today is an interesting day, which I think is trying to be a crossroads of some sort, a breathing place, a certain emotion, and a decision all at once. Which is too much, so it just ends up being a Saturday with underlying feelings instead. Here is to cloudy days spent on the computer, thinking far away thoughts, and reveling in all that music is and does.

I leave you with one more video of the band Ok Go, at a performance recognizing their creativity on YouTube videos. It is done at a museum in a toned down way that really lets me linger on the sounds of the song and melded voices instead. They are performing “White Knuckles” and “This Too Shall Pass”

–Namaste, Kira

One thought on “Musical Outlets

Leave a Reply

