Skinny Love meets my Uke

Ukulele is most certainly my instrument of choice now. Recently, when I was “playing” in the SMC impromptu talent show at retreat, all that was available was a guitar. Of course I played all that I really remember on guitar, which is an Ingrid Michaelson song called “The chain” and loved singing it. But oh how I longed for my good ‘ol tenor uke, makala.

I have recently discovered that just taking time to play my uke for me, is one of my favorite hobbies.  I just learned the song “Skinny Love” by Bon Iver, inspired by a lovely cover done by my very own Ingrid (on her trusty ukulele as well).

It is a beautiful song that I love just injecting with emotion. And maybe someday I will post a video of me doing the uke cover! I could just play this song over and over four hours….then of course I have to face the pain on my fingertips, that oddly enough, I relish.

But my favorite realization: playing this instrument makes me happy. I don’t feel like I have to get to some level of perfection or skill with it. I like playing the chords I know and piecing songs together. I love playing for my friends and singing for the joy of singing. My next mission: learn some awesome worship songs and sing my heart out for God. I am so happy He gave me this talent and the joy of singing. Thus I hope to take my blessing and turn it back to praise! Sing a new song….and play your ukulele with joy!

Leave a Reply

